Whom Father Loves, He Corrects

It is not always easy to recognize discipline and correction as being an indicator of love. But over the years, I have begun to understand this. When I look back, my hindsight is much clearer, and my attitude is much more grateful for the correction of my loving heavenly Father, Yahuwah Elohim [the Hebrew name for the LORD God].

For example — One summer during college, I took a job in a cafeteria kitchen as an assistant chef. How I managed to get hired for the position is still a wonder to me, because I had no experience.

But there I was, in this kitchen preparing food and cleaning pots and pans. The elderly supervisor must have suspected my inexperience, because she began to take a ‘special interest’ in me. ‘Special’ meaning she was always on my case, stressing, and insisting most firmly!!, her way of doing things. Her methods of instruction were not exactly pleasant, to say it mildly! At times, it was as frightening as an angry, hissing cat, and that can be very intimidating!

Dad Stepped In

At first, I hated the job, as well as everyone around me. I wanted to quit desperately! I called home.

Dad stepped into my situation, and told me, “No way! You stay put!”

Dad was not going to tolerate my rotten attitude. Thankfully, as I look back now, God must have twisted my arm somehow, because I yielded and obeyed my dad’s command. I’m so glad I did, because that summer job turned into one of the best experiences for me.

I realized, later on in life, the elderly supervisor actually did me a favor. Because, once I settled down and accepted the inevitable (plus, the job was for only three months!), I began to actually “grow up!”  I actually gained some maturity due to that lady’s ‘special interest’ in me.

But at the time, my dilemma was agonizing!

After talking with my father, I began to ponder my dilemma. I thought that since I had no experience, I might as well try to be agreeable and try to receive this lady’s input.

Now my maturity at that time, was still far from ripe. My attitude was rebellious and haughty and sulky. I fiercely resented the supervisor’s many attempts to correct me!

My efforts to stifle my impulse to retaliate at this lady’s harshness were often not successful! Yet, the things she did manage to get through to me have stayed with me. I have used her methods of kitchen/cooking management over and over. And when the summer was over, I was actually sad to leave. It had turned into one of the happiest summers of my college years!

So What’s The Lesson?

For whom Yahuwah [the LORD] loveth he correcteth; even as a father the son in whom he delighteth. (Proverb 3:12)

Thou shalt also consider in thine heart, that, as a man chasteneth his son, so Yahuwah [the LORD] thy God chasteneth thee. (Deuteronomy 8:5) 

As we see in these verses, Yahuwah’s correction is as a loving father! He is as a father who delights in his child. Though Yahuwah corrects us by various afflictions, He (being the perfect Father) does so with love, and not in wrath. And His correction is always for our good!

Even during those most rebellious days of mine, Abba Father was doing a work in me. That supervisor was Yahuwah’s loving hand of correction and chastening. At the time, her interest in me was intensely bitter, and many times, most grievous!

Now no chastening for the present seemeth to be joyous, but grievous: nevertheless afterward it yields the peaceable fruit of righteousness unto them which are exercised thereby. (Hebrews 12:11)

As this verse teaches, Father’s chastening, though grievous, yields the peaceable fruit of righteousness!

By the grace and mercy of Abba Father, His chastening of me that summer, finally yielded the fruit He was looking for! Because, as a result, I began to mature a little bit, and I became more yielded to His input, and soon, I was birthed (Born-Again) into His Kingdom, becoming “a planting of Yahuwah” (Isaiah 61:3).

Look at Derek Prince’s comment on (Proverbs 3:11–12 NIV):

My son, do not despise the LORD’S discipline, and do not resent his rebuke, because the LORD disciplines those he loves, as a father the son he delights in.” 

Discipline is a mark of love: many have gone astray in our contemporary culture and have misunderstood that. Unfortunately there has been a philosophy of bringing up children which omits discipline: allowing your child to do whatever he wishes, to indulge himself in every way. But that does not show love; instead that creates endless potential problems for your child in the future. True love in a parent expresses itself in discipline, in setting boundaries. There is security in set boundaries.
The love of God for His children expresses itself in discipline (correction). God’s discipline is not a mark of His disfavor; it’s a mark of His love! We need to be careful that we understand it that way. The Scripture warns us against two wrong reactions to the discipline of God. The first is despising it. The second is resenting it.
When God disciplines you, pay attention, do not despise it, don’t resent it! Don’t get angry, don’t complain, but learn the lesson that has to be learned. The result will be blessing. The result will be peace and spiritual progress and development. There is no other way that God can teach us except by discipline. That’s true in the natural too. A teacher who does not discipline really can not teach. God is the great teacher, the great Father. He disciplines us in His love. — Derek Prince

While We Were Yet Sinners

Yahuwah’s ways are intimately loving, even when we are oblivious to Him!

Father shows His love for us in a multitude of ways, even before we are aware of Him and His love! The extent of His love was demonstrated for us [while we were yet sinners], the day Yahushua Messiah [Jesus Christ] died for us (Romans 5:8)!

Abba Father knows that one day, His chosen ones, His elect, will know His supreme and ultimate love for us — when we understand the death, burial, and resurrection of Yahushua Messiah on our behalf!

I can thank the heavenly Father now, for putting that supervisor in my life. I have had several such people in my life since then. Little by little, I’m learning that such people are for my training and correction, and thus they are in my life for my good!

Do you have such a person in your life? Perhaps Father is using that person in your life for His loving correction.

For now, Father’s chastening may seem grievous.

But take heart, Dear Reader! We can be sure and confident that — somehow, someway — in the midst of our trials, Yahuwah’s correction is given, because He LOVES us!!

Related Articles:

Cold Waters to a Thirsty Soul

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Building Character, Family, Love

Post a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Google Translate

1a--Weekly Quote Pic

True wisdom is the ability to see things from God’s perspective!
– Kathryn Kuhlman
1-scripturename
NAMES are very important! "O LORD, how majestic is Your NAME is all the earth!" In these articles, I often use the Hebrew name for the Heavenly Father, the LORD God, and the Hebrew name for God's beloved Son, Jesus the Messiah.
For more understanding, please see: Names

Daily Thought

Trail Steps w 2Questions
Are you satisfied? Or do you want to go further? If you would like to go further, then begin to understand and obey the 2nd Commandment.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Bible picture

For an in-depth study on Biblical guidelines for learning how to study God's Word for yourself, see the following:
Categories

AnointedMessiah

Take A Closer Look!

The LORD God, Who is the Living, Eternal God, Creator of ALL things, came to this earth, born through a virgin birth, to communicate His character, His nature, His power, His purposes! Only Jesus Christ could have accomplished this mission, because . . . He was not an ordinary man!!

water-splash

Thirsty Souls are looking for the true refreshing that reaches into our inner-most-being. Thirsty Souls look for the things that are Everlasting!!
Can we find such things? — the pure ‘Living Waters‘ that truly satisfy?

Take A Closer Look:
The Fountain of the Water of Life
and
How Can I Satisfy
My Thirsty Soul?

Jesus said, Truly I say unto you, Except a person be Born Again, he cannot see (perceive) the Kingdom of God. Marvel not that I said unto you, You must be Born Again!
Good News! - How to be Born Again

nature-stream

Receive the Holy Spirit

Disclaimer
Cold Waters to a Thirsty Soul is the GOOD News from a distant land --- from the loving Heavenly Father God, the LORD God of the Bible. This Blog is dedicated to giving "Cold Waters to Thirsty Souls" --- sharing practical, helpful truths of the Good News found in God's eternal Word, the Bible. This Blog does not necessarily agree with, nor endorse, all the content of other websites, articles, videos, or persons referenced within this Blog. "Prove all things with Scripture, and hold fast that which is good."

"Eat the meat, and spit out the bones."
Copyright Notice
These writings © 2011-2024 coldwaterstoathirstysoul.

All writings within this Site are intended only for those subscribers who have chosen to receive them for their own use.

Subscribers are encouraged to copy and distribute this material, if "copied right," to be used only for the Glory of the LORD God of the Bible, and not for any commercial purposes whatsoever. You may print and share the content as long as you give full credit to this blog: "Cold Waters to a Thirsty Soul".

Comments that are off subject will not be published.