Ten Expressions of One Devoted to God

Reading what others have said regarding their relationship with the heavenly Father is always an inspiration for me. I am motivated to press in and follow after God with more fervency whenever I read a biography (or an autobigraphy) about one of God’s children. I learn something valuable every time I read about their life with the Father. That is why I wanted to post these intimate expressions of devotion. Perhaps it will stir others to press in more closely in their own relationship with Father.

1DaisyFlowerThe following are just a few of the excerpts taken from a man’s diary who kept an intimate record of his walk with Abba ‘Daddy’ Father. As expressions of the heart, they are insights for us to learn from, and are as footsteps for us to follow in, for they reveal a heart that is earnestly seeking after Yahuwah Elohim [the LORD God].

1. “Oh that my soul were wrapped up in divine love, that my longing desires after God were increased!”

2. “Oh that I may be always humble and resigned to God, and that He would cause my soul to be more fixed on Him, and that I may be more fitted both for doing His will and for suffering for His sake! … I cried to God to cleanse me from my exceeding filthiness, to give me repentance and pardon. I then began to find it sweet to pray…. God gave me to wrestle earnestly for others, for the kingdom of Christ in the world, and for dear Christian friends. I felt weaned from the world, and from my own reputation amongst men…. It is impossible for me to express how I then felt: I had some sense of the majesty of God, which made me, as it were to tremble.”

3. “I had some little beginnings of comfort today in prayer; but especially tonight, I think I had some faith and power of intercession with God. I was enabled to plead with God for the growth of grace in myself. Then many of the dear children of God lay with weight upon my soul. Blessed be the Lord! It is good to wrestle for divine blessings.”

4. “Oh that all my late distresses and awful apprehensions might prove but Christ’s school, to make me fit for greater service, by teaching me the great lesson of humility!

5. “In the morning I felt but little life, except that my heart was somewhat drawn out in thankfulness to God for His amazing grace and condescension to me, for past influences and assistances of His Spirit. Afterwards, I had some sweetness in the thoughts of arriving at the heavenly world. Oh for that happy Day! After public worship God gave me special assistance in prayer; I wrestled with my dear Lord, with much sweetness. Intercession was made a delightful employment to me.”

man prayer shadow6. “This morning the Lord was pleased to lift up the light of His countenance upon me in secret prayer, and made the season very precious to my soul. And though I have been so depressed of late, respecting my hopes of future service in the cause of God; yet now I had much encouragement respecting that matter. I was especially assisted to intercede and plead for poor souls, and for the enlargement of Christ’s kingdom in the world…. I felt exceedingly calm, and quite resigned to God, respecting my future employment, when and where He pleased. Blessed be the Lord, He is never unmindful of me, but always sends me needed supplies…. Oh that I may never distrust His infinite goodness!

7. “Again my soul longed for communion with Christ, and for the mortification of sin’s indwelling corruption, especially spiritual pride. Oh there is a sweet Day coming, wherein the weary will be at rest! My soul has enjoyed much sweetness today in the hopes of that sweet Day’s speedy arrival.”

8. “Oh that God would enable me to grow in grace every day! Alas! my barrenness is such, that God might well say, ‘Cut it down.’ I am afraid of a deadness of heart on this Sabbath having now begun. Oh that God would quicken me by His grace!”

9. “In the afternoon, God was with me of a truth. Oh it was blessed company indeed! God enabled me so to agonize in prayer, that I was quite wet with perspiration, though in the shade, and in the cool wind. My soul was drawn out very much for the world; for multitudes of souls…. I enjoyed great sweetness in communion with my dear Saviour. I think I never in my life felt such an entire release from this world, and was so much resigned to God in every thing. Oh that I may always live to and upon my blessed God! Amen, Amen.”

10. “This day I am twenty-four years of age. Oh how much mercy have I received the year past! How often has God caused His goodness to pass before me! And how poorly have I answered the vows I made this time twelve months ago — to be wholly the Lord’s, to be for ever devoted to His service! May the Lord help me to live more to His glory for the time to come! This has been a sweet, and happy day to me: blessed be God! I think my soul was never so drawn out in intercession for others…. I dearly longed to live to God, and to be altogether devoted to Him. I wanted to wear out my life in His service, and for His glory!

These ten expressions are a few excerpts taken from The Life and Diary of the Rev. David Brainerd (1718-1747). [Some of the wording has been updated for clarity.]

David Brainerd was a missionary to the American Indians in New York, New Jersey, and eastern Pennsylvania. Born in Connecticut in 1718, he died of tuberculosis at the age of twenty-nine. 

At one point, early in his ministry to the Indians, Brainerd wrote: “I have now baptized, in all, forty-seven persons of the Indians. Twenty-three adults and twenty-four children…Through rich grace, none of them as yet have been left to disgrace their profession of Christianity by any scandalous or unbelieving behavior.” Oh that each one of us would know such fruitfulness!

David Brainerd was a man completely devoted to God! Brainerd’s diary has been an inspiration and an encouragement to many!

May it be that, as David Brainerd, we would seek Father with the same consuming fervency and devotion!

Related Articles:

Cold Waters to a Thirsty Soul

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Commitment, Encouragement, Godly Living

Post a Comment

1a--Weekly Quote Pic

“The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, You will not despise.”
— Psalms 51:17

Daily Thought

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Trail Steps w 2Questions
Are you satisfied? Or do you want to go further? If you would like to go further, then begin to understand and obey the 2nd Commandment.

Bible picture

For an indepth study on Biblical guidelines for learning how to study God's Word for ourselves, see the following:

Search the Scriptures

Take A Closer Look!

A Whole Heart:
What does it mean to seek God with a whole heart? When we seek for something with a ‘whole heart’, we are searching with great desire, focus, diligence, and even with a measure of passion and agony! Are we willing to put aside all other things in order to gain the supremely wonderful fellowship and friendship of Messiah?

Categories
Disclaimer
Cold Waters To A Thirsty Soul does not necessarily agree with, nor endorse, all the content of other websites, articles, videos, or persons referenced within this blog. "Prove all things with Scripture, and hold fast that which is good."

"Eat the meat, and spit out the bones."
Copyright Notice
These writings © 2011-2017 coldwaterstoathirstysoul.

All writings within this Site are intended only for those subscribers who have chosen to receive them for their own use.

Subscribers are encouraged to copy and distribute this material, if "copied right," to be used only for the Glory of Yahuwah Elohim, and not for any commercial purposes whatsoever. You may print and share the content as long as you give full credit to this blog: "Cold Waters to a Thirsty Soul".
